Avengers Assemble OST Reviewed

This marks the soundtrack to one of the most anticipated movies of the year and in a way anticipation for fans of Soundgarden, the band who reunited to release their first song in 15 years – Live to Rise and it’s the lead track on this album.

I’d say that the new Soundgarden is strong and it’s lyric is quite appropriate with “Like the sun we will live to rise. Like the sun we will live and die. And then ignite again. Like the sun we will live to rise again.” I thought it was quite fitting especially depicting the challenges The Avengers had to go through in the course of the movie itself.

Back to the soundtrack though, it’s quite heavy rock which is in stark contrast to the theme of the movie, except maybe Tony Stark’s need to have ACDC playing whenever he makes a scene entrance. Actually I gotta admit that there were times where the soundtrack reminded me of the Daredevil soundtrack because it doesn’t match the movie itself.

None the less there are some pretty good standout tracks that I’d like to recommend. Take “I’m Alive” from Shinedown which was a good follow up track to “Live to Rise”, so that continued to get me intrigued and glued to the music. Another one I liked was Papa Roach’s “Even if I could”. It’s been a while since I’ve heard them and I must say they still have that same distinct sound that I like so much.

The last mention for me would have to be the Evanescence tune “A new way to bleed”. I’ve always been a fan of Amy Lee’s haunting vocals and so that’s definitely a winner for me.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

You know all in all it’s a great album especially if you’re a fan of hard rock like me. Just that being a soundtrack, I gotta say I prefer the score because the epic vibes that remind me of the movie. However you should still give this album a try. And if you need convincing, then that new Soundgarden track – Live to Rise should be reason enough.

Track listing

1. “Live to Rise – Soundgarden
2. “I’m Alive” – Shinedown
3. “Dirt and Roses” – Rise Against
4. “Even If I Could” – Papa Roach
5. “Unbroken” – Black Veil Brides
6. “Breath” – Scott Weiland
7. “Comeback” – Redlight King
8. “Into the Blue” – Bush
9. “A New Way to Bleed” (Photek Remix) – Evanescence
10. “Count Me Out” – PusherJones
11. “Wherever I Go” – Buckcherry
12. “From Out of Nowhere” (Faith No More cover) – Five Finger Death Punch
13. “Shake the Ground” – Cherri Bomb
14. “Pistols at Dawn” – Kasabian

By Elliott Danker

Marvel’s The Avengers opens in cinemas 1 May

Avengers Assemble is now in stores

© POPCulture Online 2012, All Rights Reserved.

Check Also

Soundgarden Releases Live To Rise Music Video

American rock band Soundgarden has released the music video to their latest single, Live to …